About the school

About the school

The Department of Economics at Tel Aviv University was established in the academic year 1965/6. In 1992 the university expanded it to become a School of Economics, named after one of its founders, Eitan Berglas.


The Berglas School of Economics strives for academic excellence and is ranked highly among economics departments throughout the world.


Past and current faculty include Israel prize recipients, presidents of the Econometric society, and members of the Israeli and American Academy of Sciences.


Three faculty members have been awarded the prestigious ERC grant for senior researchers, and most School of Economics faculty are regularly awarded competitive grants from institutions such as the BSF, GIF, ISF and NSF.


Among the school faculty are current and past lead editors and members of the boards of the top journals of economics.


The school teaches  about 1400 students in its excellent and widely recognized BA, MA and PhD programs.


The MA program provides one of the best possible preparations for a PhD in economics; it is a unique joint program of study with the Hebrew University combining the best courses and economists in Israel, offering a series of mini courses taught by leading faculty from the very top department in the world, and exposure to the frontiers of economic research.



Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>